Hello and a lovely day of rainbows and sunshine to the person reading this 😊 I know I haven’t posted anything in a while and I’m sorry about that. I have depression, you see, and the past week I had quite a bad depressive episode. It’s still happening at the moment but it’s gotten better at least. I’ll be talking more about this in an upcoming post if you’d like to read about this experience I had. But for now, here’s a new not-really-but-sort-of-poem from yours truly. Enjoy!


It was another one of those minor arguments we always had. Not the kind that erupted into full-blown fits of rage, but the almost quintessential affectionate scuffle. Like whether we were going to have Italian or Japanese for dinner tonight or who was the best Beatle.

“They’re the same thing,” you said.

“No they’re not,” I replied, wrinkling my nose in protest.

“Prove it,” you said, a challenging smile dancing on your lips.

“Fine,” I said, effectively sealing the challenge.

Do you know why I stepped up to the challenge? The answer to that question is reading this right now. You are the reason why I know anything and something are two entirely different things despite their interchangeability.

Let me explain it to you.

Anything is fleeting, flighty, insignificant. It does not leave a mark on me, nor does it have a special place in my heart. The first boy I liked when I was just eight years old, whom I have not thought of in years and of whose whereabouts I now have no knowledge. The plastic bangle I won in the carnival which I misplaced somewhere and never found again. The glance that stranger gave me as I shopped for groceries. These things are lost to me now, buried so deep in the recesses of my mind that I can scarcely recall them even if I want to. Anything…doesn’t mean anything.

Something, on the other hand…

Something is special and different. No matter what you do, where you go, or who you meet, nothing you encounter will ever be similar. You can search forever, and all your efforts will be in vain. The twinkle in your warm brown eyes every time we see each other. The pencil you lent me the first time we met, which led to our first ever conversation. The warmth of your arms around my body.

Every single one of these things gives me a unique feeling. You give me a unique feeling. I can forget other things, but never these. And somehow, I know that without you, I will never find this feeling anywhere else. Not in a million lifetimes.


Leave a Reply

